Home | ISB Story | Directory | Tour Dates | Discography | Features | ISB Diary | News | Links | A-Z | Search | Contact

Smiling Men with Bad Reputations

Mike Heron

Release Date: 1971

CD Release: 1991

CD Re-release: 2003

CD Re-release 15 June 2015 (Talking Elephant)

Call Me Diamond and Lady Wonder were also released as a single.

Track Listing

  1. Call Me Diamond
  2. Flowers of the Forest
  3. Audrey
  4. Brindaban
  5. Feast of Stephen
  6. Spirit Beautiful
  7. Warm Heart Pastry
  8. Beautiful Stranger
  9. No Turning Back
  10. Make No Mistake*
  11. Lady Wonder*

*Available on CD only

Mojo January 2004

Stunning 1971 self penned solo debut from the Incredible String Band guitarist.

Disillusioned with the Incredible String Band, guitarist Mike Heron took time out to reacquaint himself with his rock roots (he'd started out in Edinburgh's Rock Bottom & the Deadbeats) on this, his hugely underrated solo debut.

With ISB producer Joe Boyd at the controls and a feast of musicians queuing up to lend a guitar (Pete Townshend, Richard Thompson, Jimmy Page), Hammond organ (Steve Winwood), drums (Keith Moon), bass (Dave Pegg, Ronnie Lane), piano (Elton John), harmonium and viola (John Cale), Heron delivers a passionate recital. Call Me Diamond is rollicking rock 'n' soul, combining blazing brass with a footstomping backbeat and Heron's Spencer Davis-like blue-eyed soul vocal. Flowers of the Forest is a gentle love song chronicling Heron's relationship with fellow ISB member Rose Simpson, while the wondrous psychedelic folk of Audrey wouldn't be out of place on The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter.

Privacy policy


Making Time 1995-2015