Guide to British Music of the 1960s

May 2016

Book Review

Here Come The Nice - A Small Faces Songbook and More by John Hellier & Paul Weller

This is the second edition of a book first published in October 2005. This new edition includes many new photographs. Most of the book is a collection of Small Faces songs written by Steve Marriott and Ronnie Lane with full musical notation for guitar and bass. There are interviews with Paul Weller, Jimmy Winston and the late Small Faces Fan Club secretary Pauline Corcoran. John Hellier's own Small Faces biography has been updated and there is plenty of trivia.

The songs for the tablature have been chosen by Paul Weller are his favourite tracks and he writes a few words about each of them.

The book is a fun read for Small Faces fans as well as musicians wishing to play these great songs.

Full song listing:

  1. (If You Think You're) Groovy
  2. I Feel Much Better
  3. I'm Only Dreaming
  4. Tin Soldier
  5. Itchycoo Park
  6. Here Come The Nice
  7. Autumn Stone
  8. Song of a Baker
  9. Donkey Rides a Penny a Glass
  10. Talk To You
  11. Get Yourself Together
  12. Afterglow
  13. Become Like You
  14. All or Nothing
  15. I've Got Mine

Published 2016

Substitute Publishing

Privacy Policy


Making Time 1997-2016