Guide to British Music of the 1960s

November 1998

CD Review

PP Arnold- The First Cut



PP Arnold is not strictly a British artist but as she made her solo career here, the album can be included. The First Cut is a CD reissue of her two late 1960s albums on Immediate records, PP Arnold First Lady of Immediate and Kafunta. PP Arnold had started her singing career as a backing singer for Ike & Tine Turner, where her first UK gig was supporting the Rolling Stones at the Royal Albert Hall. Through Mick Jagger she met Andrew Loog Oldham who signed her to Immediate as a solo artist.

The First Cut is the Deepest was the first of her singles to reach the top 40 although she had already released four singles. This song had been especially written for her by Cat Stevens. Other hits came in the form of Angel of the Morning and (If You Think You're) Groovy. The latter was written by Steve Marriott and Ronnie Lane of the Small Faces who back her on the track. Small Faces connections continue. Her backing band was given the name The Nice by Steve Marriott as the Small Faces were fond of using the term "nice." Steve Marriott then wrote Afterglow (Of Your Love) for PP Arnold but, after her enthusiastic reaction, decided to keep the track. Instead, she was given (If You Think You're) Groovy. She also sang backing vocals on the classic Tin Soldier.

PP Arnold is strongest on the songs more closely identified with her. On the Kafunta album, there are a number of cover versions of songs that, with hindsight, she should not have included. They are so closely linked with the original versions that they are difficult for anyone to cover as well as the best-known version. God Only Knows is the best example of this.

A Japanese CD called PP Arnold Collection is available through US on-line stores. This has exactly the same track listing as The First Cut but with the addition of If You See What I Mean.

mp, October 1998

Note: Since this review was written, the CD has been re-released with a slightly different track listing.

Released: 1998
Castle Communications
CCS CD 819

Essential Tracks:

  • (If You Think You're) Groovy
  • The First Cut is the Deepest
  • Treat Me Like A Lady

Track Listing:

  1. (If You Think You're) Groovy
  2. Something Beautiful Happened
  3. Born to be Together
  4. Am I Still Dreaming?
  5. Though It Hurts Me Badly
  6. The First Cut is the Deepest
  7. Everything Is Gonna Be Alright
  8. Treat Me Like A Lady
  9. Would You Believe
  10. Life Is But Nothing
  11. Speak To Me
  12. The Time Has Come
  13. Letter To Bill
  14. Kafunta One
  15. God Only Knows
  16. Eleanor Rigby
  17. Yesterday
  18. Angel of the Morning
  19. It'll Never Happen Again
  20. As Tears Go By
  21. To Love Somebody
  22. Dreamin'
  23. Welcome Home

Privacy Policy


?Making Time 1997-2008

オークリー メガネ 新作 マフラー 人気 ポールスミス 時計 メンズ プラダポーチ公式 プラダアウトレット店舗