Guide to British Music of the 1960s

March 2000

CD Review

The Animals - Animalisms


This is a classic slice of Animals R&B. Animalisms features Dave Rowberry on keyboards who had joined after Alan Price had left the group. Prior to the release of the album, drummer John Steel also left the band and was replaced by the former Nashville Teen, Barry Jenkins.

This was the Animals' third album and, like the first two, consisted largely of R&B cover versions, albeit down very well. They do frequently differ from the originals though as Burdon was fond of "translating" the lyrics to give a more appropriate setting, primarily Newcastle. Note the reference to the Flying Scotsman train from Newcastle to London in the first track, One Money Don't Stop No Show

The CD has a number of bonus tracks that include the singles Inside Looking Out, Don't Bring Me Down and See See Rider. These single cuts turn the album from simply a very good R&B album to an outstanding piece of powerful music. These tracks are a mix of singles as well as tracks from an EP, In The Beginning There Was Early Animals. The b-sides to the first two are Outcast and Cheating.

I Put A Spell On You was the Screaming Jay Hawkins song and, ironically, it was also the first solo single by the recently departed Alan Price reaching the top ten. Like Don't Bring Me Down, That's All I Am To You features the fuzz box coupled onto Hilton Valentine's guitar. 

Animalisms reached number four in the charts in June 1966, while the single It's My Life, (not included here) made the same position the previous month. Later in June, Don't Bring Me Down made number six in the UK singles charts. This is included on the CD version although it was not on the original LP.

Released: June 1966
Decca LK 4797
CD Release: 1999
Repertoire REP 4772-WY
Highest UK chart position: 4

Essential Tracks:

  • Don't Bring Me Down

  • Outcast

  • Help Me Girl

Track Listing:

  1. One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
  2. Maudie
  3. Outcast
  4. Sweet Little Sixteen
  5. You're On My Mind
  6. Clapping
  7. Gin House Blues
  8. Squeeze Her- Tease Her
  9. What Am I Living For
  10. I Put A Spell On You
  11. That's All I Am To You
  12. She'll Return It

Bonus Tracks

  1. Inside Looking Out
  2. Don't Bring Me Down
  3. Cheating
  4. Help Me Girl
  5. See See Rider
  6. I Just Wanna Make Love To You
  7. Boom Boom
  8. Big Boss Man
  9. Pretty Thing

Stereo Versions

  1. Don't Bring Me Down
  2. See See Rider
  3. Help Me Girl
  4. Cheating

Privacy Policy


?Making Time 1997-2008

オークリー メガネ 新作 マフラー 人気 ポールスミス 時計 メンズ プラダポーチ公式 プラダアウトレット店舗