Guide to British Music of the 1960s

January 2006

CD Review

Georgie Fame - On the Right Track

Georgie Fame is one of those artists whose career ran through most of the 1960s and beyond. This compilation provides an overview of his work during the 1960s and shows how important he was, particularly to the development of the Mod scene. Starting off in the basement of the Whisky-a-Go-Go with a residency at The Flamingo, Fame not only backed visiting American artists but also started to build his own following by playing a mix of jazzy R&B that was influenced by black American music and which was a huge favourite with the Mods. Work Song, In the Meantime and Telegram really capture the atmosphere how it might have been in the Flamingo.

With the end of the Blue Flames, the change in Georgie Fame's direction was already clear. With a cover of Bobby Hebb's Sunny Fame was moving towards more mainstream pop. 1968's The Ballad of Bonnie & Clyde is one of Georgie Fame's best-known songs. This was his third number one single. Clearly, this may have alienated the Mod audience but, by now, many of the Mods themselves had moved on. However, Fame's direction was very different to the musical direction that many Mods were now following, i.e. psychedelia.

The later tracks in this collection show that Fame had moved towards more of a cabaret and big band style. These are very enjoyable tracks that are well worth listening to. I'm A Drifter is one of the outstanding of these later tracks.

The final track features Fame teaming up with another organ player from top sixties band. Rosetta is his collaboration with former Animal Alan Price.

All in all, On the Right Track is a thoroughly enjoyable listen that showcases Georgie Fame's 1960s career. The evolution from Mod scene to big band and cabaret is clear. However, all the time there is the Hammond organ sound, Fame's distinctive voice and the jazzy feel to the songs.

Release Date: 2004

Essential Tracks:

  • Yeh Yeh
  • In the Meantime
  • Ballad of Bonnie & Clyde

Track Listing:

Disc One

  1. Work Song (live) - The Blue Flames
  2. Get on the Right Track, Baby - the Blue Flames
  3. Yeh Yeh - The Blue Flames
  4. In the Meantime - The Blue Flames
  5. Telegram - The Blue Flames
  6. Like We Used To Be - The Blue Flames
  7. Something - The Blue Flames
  8. Get Away - The Blue Flames
  9. Sunny
  10. Sitting in the Park
  11. Sweet Thing
  12. Bluesology (live)
  13. Because I Love You
  14. Try My World
  15. Ballad of Bonnie & Clyde
  16. Bullets Laverne
  17. Kentucky Child
  18. Need Your Love So Bad
  19. Seventh Son
  20. Someone Stole My Thunder
  21. Blossom
  22. Peaceful
  23. I'm a Drifter
  24. Down Along the Cove
  25. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
  26. Stormy
  27. Happiness
  28. Rosetta (with Alan Price)

Privacy Policy


Making Time 1997-2006