Guide to British Music of the 1960s

February 2018

CD Review: Chris Farlowe - Live at the BBC


Chris Farlowe had one of the great voices of the 1960s. With the Thunderbirds he grew out of the London jazz club scene and soon teamed up with Mick Jagger and Keith Richards as well as Andrew Loog Oldham. Farlowe had a huge hit with Out of Time, included on disc one but he did not replicate this success with other releases. The Stones' songwriting team also supplied Paint it Black which was well-suited to Farlowe's voice, even if he did mix up the verses, as well as Think and Yesterday's Papers!

Chris Farlowe clearly made many visits to the BBC to record "live" tracks. Most of these are for the radio show Top of the Pops which pre-dated the TV show of the same name. Like other BBC recordings the music is mixed up with interviews with Brian Matthew. This provides added authenticity and helps to provide context for the tracks as the quietly spoken Farlowe talks about his "current" plans and about recording with Jagger. In interviews Farlowe is softly spoken but this all changes when he starts to sing and the power of his voice comes through.

Farlowe had one of the strongest voices of British blues. With the Thunderbirds he created a great sound that comes over perfectly in the "live" setting of a BBC take. As well as songs by local songwriters Jagger/Richards and Marriott/Lane he takes on American classics from Otis Redding and James Brown with great success.

These recordings are a wonderful legacy of an often overlooked British act. There is much more to Chris Farlowe than Out of Time and he shows that he belongs right at the top of British R&B acts of the sixties.


CD Release: 22 September 2017

Essential Tracks

  • Ride on Baby
  • Think
  • Headlines

Track Listing

Disc One:
  1. Watcha Gonna Do?
  2. Interview
  3. The Fool
  4. Rockin Pneumonia & The Boogie Woogie Flu
  5. Interview
  6. Think
  7. Don't Just Look at Me
  8. Mr Pitiful
  9. Interview
  10. Out of Time
  11. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
  12. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  13. We're Doing Fine
  14. Interview
  15. Ride on Baby
  16. Headlines
Disc Two:
  1. Bread
  2. North South East & West
  3. I Can't Get You Out of My Mind
  4. Interview
  5. My Way of Giving
  6. What Becomes of the Broken Hearted?
  7. Paint It Black
  8. Interview
  9. Yesterday's Papers
  10. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
  11. North South East & West
  12. Summertime
  13. Interview
  14. Moanin'
  15. Paint It Black


Privacy Policy


Making Time 1997-2018