Guide to British Music of the 1960s


The Silence

Biography | Discography | Web Links | Books


Andy Ellison- vocals, John Hewlett- guitar/bass, Chris Townson- Drums, Geoff McLelland- guitar

The band started as The Few in Surrey in 1964. They then became The Silence. They recorded three tracks as The Silence with Down Down appearing on the Mojo compilation from May 2016. Simon Napier-Bell became their manager and they became John's Children.

Chris Townson died in February 2008.

Privacy Policy


Making Time 1997-2021