Home | Small Faces Story | Tour of London | Discography | Features | Members | Books | Links | A-Z | Contact

What's New


Buy at amazon.co.uk


Burning Airlines / New Millennium PILOT 66

Released: 30 October 2000

This is a double CD that comprises Small Faces appearances for German TV. The first four tracks are taken from the live programme Beat Beat Beat recorded at Offenbach Stadthalle. The remainder were recorded for Beat Club at NDR in Bremen.

The second CD features the video footage of all of the songs, unfortunately in a small window. The first CD is the audio tracks. Note that the Beat Club performances were mimed so the audio version is, effectively, the record version. Only the Beat Beat Beat tracks are genuinely live.

Track listing:
  1. Hey Girl
  2. All or Nothing
  3. What'cha Gonna Do About It
  4. She La La la Lee
  5. I Can't Make It
  6. Here Comes The Nice
  7. Green Circles
  8. Itchycoo Park
  9. Tin Soldier
  10. Lazy Sunday

Record Collector February 2001

After years of low-generation bootlegs in circulation, the Small Faces' 166-1968 German TV appearances (with soundtracks) have been officially compiled into an audio-visual package that justifies its title. While the hit singles (and Green Circles) were simply mimed before a studio audience, it's the raw opening salvo from the band's September 1966  Beat! Beat! Beat! that gives the lie to the notion that the Faces couldn't cut it live. And the accompanying CD-ROM is worth the fee just to see Steve Marriott grappling with a Gretsch twice his size!

A 48-page booklet features interviews with individual band members reproduced from the out-of-print Quite Naturally book. So - nice band, nice tunes, nice idea. Pity about the unimaginative target slipcase!

Privacy policy 

Making Time 1995-2008